Jury Services FAQs
Jury Duty Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, it is. It is a civic duty and a right of citizenship.
We create a master list of names annually from the Stanislaus County Registrar of Voters, California Franchise Tax Board and the California Department of Motor Vehicles.
Yes, you will need to call our automated system at (209)548-6280, text your nine-digit juror number to (209)340-6832, or check online at www.stanislaus.courts.ca.gov/divisions/jury-service/reporting-instructions after 5:00 p.m. the day before you are scheduled to appear to get reporting, cancellation or call back instructions. If you are asked to call back for the afternoon, you must be able to appear within an hour's notice. To access your information through the automated system, online or text message system you will need to provide your nine-digit juror number and your date of birth.
The entrance to the courthouse is located at 800 11th Street in Modesto between H and I Streets. You will need to go through the metal detectors and then take the stairs or elevator down to the basement. The jury assembly room is located in the basement of the courthouse. Our office hours are from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Complete the Not Qualified section on the Jury Summons. You may submit it online at https://jury.stanct.org/login or return it by mail to our office within five (5) days. Make sure that you sign, date and put your phone number so if we have any questions we can contact you.
Yes, if you have a conflict with the date you are scheduled to appear you may reschedule up to 180 days maximum. If you are eligible to reschedule you may request through our automated phone system at (209)548-6280, juror summons login at https://jury.stanct.org/login to submit or text your nine-digit juror number to (209)340-6832. If you missed your scheduled date, you may also request to reschedule through our automated phone system, online or text message system.
Being a student does not excuse you from serving. However, you may request to reschedule.
No, but you can request to reschedule to allow you time to make necessary arrangements for childcare. Children will not be allowed into court.
A juror must provide a medical excuse from a healthcare provider unless they are 70 years of age or older. The medical excuse should specify the medical reason you are unable to serve and how long the illness or problem will exist (length of excuse).
Jury service is "one trial or one day". Which means if you are selected then you will serve for the duration of the trial. However, if you are not selected on the day you appear then you will be excused unless jury selection takes more than one day. You should always be prepared to serve more than one day just to be on the safe side.
In most cases, three to four days. We do have longer cases, as do all other courts.
A typical day is from around 9:00 a.m.–4:30 p.m. The day could be shorter but it is rarely longer. The jury office hours are actually from 8:00 a.m.–4:30 p.m., Monday–Friday.
Notify your employer the day you receive your summons. Your employer must allow you time off to serve on a jury. This is the law*.
(*Labor Code 230 states: "No employer shall discharge or in any manner discriminate against an employee for taking time off to serve as required by law on an inquest jury or trial jury, if the employee, prior to taking the time off, gives reasonable notice to the employer that he or she is required to serve.")
This code is intended to prevent any employer from firing or harassing an employee who is summoned for jury duty service and who has given reasonable notice of when the employee is to serve. Please read Section 230(a) of the California Labor Code.
There is no law that requires your employer to pay you. Check with your supervisor or personnel department before coming to court.
Yes, jury fees are $15.00 per day plus mileage of $0.34 per mile, one way. Jury fees begin to accumulate starting on the second day of service. At the conclusion of the trial you will be mailed a check within about a week.
Please contact our office at (209) 548-6280 or email email@example.com for special accommodation requests.
There is no specific age limit. The courts, however, have a policy which states that if you are 70 years or older you can request to be excused for age and health reasons without providing a note from a healthcare provider.
Yes. No shorts, no tank tops and no t-shirts or sweatshirts with offensive language are allowed.
Free parking is available along 8th Street between K and L Streets. Pay parking is available at the parking garages located along 9th Street and 11th Street. Pay metered lots are also within walking distance to the courthouse. Please refer to the map on your summons for parking locations or view the summons form on our web page.
You may use your jury summons as a complimentary bus pass to and from the courthouse or transportation center on your first day of appearance. If selected to serve as a juror, bus passes will be provided upon request.
We can provide you with a substitute qualifying statement when you appear. If you need to contact our office to obtain information regarding jury service, please call our automated phone system at (209) 548-6280 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.