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in Payment of Judgment �

New July 1, 2013, Optional Form
Code of Civil Procedure, § 116.620;

SC-223

I am asking the court to order that the remaining balance of a small claims
judgment is now due and collectible because payments were not made as
the court ordered.
My name is:
Mailing address:

Phone: E-mail (optional):

The judgment debtor who has not made payments as the court ordered is
(complete a separate form for each judgment debtor who has not paid as
ordered):

2

Fill in the court name and street address:

Clerk stamps here when form is filed.

Fill in your case number and case name:

Superior Court of California, County of

Case Number:

(Small Claims)

Page 1 of 2

Important: Read the other side before you fill out this form or if it was mailed
to you. If you are the judgment debtor named in
Declaration of Default in Payment of Judgment, you may file Response to
Declaration of Default in Payment of Judgment (Form SC-224) within 10 days
after the declaration was mailed to you.

Name:
Mailing address:

Phone: E-mail (optional):
Case Name:

3

prejudgment interest, and costs in the total amount of $

the court ordered that the judgment debtor named in
2 must pay me, or someone who assigned the judgment to me, principal,

On (date):

.

the court ordered that the judgment debtor named inOn (date):4
as follows:3in

2 may pay the judgment described

a. Payments of $ on the day of each
starting (date): , until (date of final payment): ; amount of final payment: $

b. Other payment schedule (specify):

The payments listed below, and no others, have been made on the judgment described in5 3 .
Check here if there is not enough space below. List the date and amount of each payment on a separate page
and write “SC-223, Item 5” at the top.

Date Amount Date Amount Date Amount Date Amount

The total amount of the payments that have been made on the judgment described in is $36 ,
and the balance due, without adding any interest after the judgment, is $ .

, calculated as follows:I request interest on the judgment, in the amount of $7
Check here if there is not enough space below. Explain how you calculated interest on a separate page and write
“SC-223, Item 7” at the top.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is true and correct.

Date:

Type or print your name Sign here

Cal. Rules of Court, rule 3.2107

and you disagree with this2

(month, week, other):�

�

�

�

Stanislaus
300 Starr Avenue
300 Starr Avenue
Turlock, CA 95380

Small Claims



New July 1, 2013 Declaration of Default in Payment of Judgment SC-223,

(Small Claims)
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Default in Payments on Small Claims Judgment
General Information

If the court ordered that another plaintiff or
defendant (judgment debtor) may pay a small
claims judgment in payments, and that judgment
debtor has not made the payments as ordered, you
can ask the court to order that the full balance of
the judgment is due and collectible. Here’s how:

Read this form.�

� Fill out page 1 of Form SC-223, Declaration of
Default in Payment of Judgment. Fill out a separate
form for each judgment debtor who did not make
payments as ordered.

� File your completed form(s) with the small claims
court clerk.

If the court ordered that you may make payments on a
judgment, and another plaintiff, defendant, or person
to whom the judgment has been assigned (judgment
creditor) has filed Form SC-223, Declaration of Default
in Payment of Judgment, asking the court to order that
the full balance is now due and collectible because you
did not make the payments:
� Read this form and the Declaration.
� If you agree with the court ordering that the amounts

claimed in the Declaration are now due in full, you do
not need to do anything.

� If you do not agree with the Declaration or with the
court ordering that the amounts it claims are now
due in full, file a Response within 10 calendar days
after the court clerk mailed the Declaration to you.
(This date is on the Clerk’s Certificate of Mailing.)The court will mail all other plaintiffs and defendants

in the case copies of the Declaration and a blank Form
SC-224, Response to Declaration of Default in
Payment of Judgment.

The judgment debtor will have 10 days to file a
Response. Then the court will mail all plaintiffs and
defendants in the case:
� A decision, or
� A notice to go to a hearing.

Answers to Common Questions
When is the judgment due?
Unless the court orders otherwise, small claims judgments
are due immediately. If the judgment is not paid in full
within 30 days, the judgment creditor (person to whom the
money is owed) can take legal steps to collect any unpaid
amount. (Collection may be postponed if an appeal or a
request to vacate (cancel) or correct the judgment is filed.)

When can the judgment debtor make payments?
A plaintiff or defendant who was ordered to pay a small
claims judgment (judgment debtor) can ask the court for
permission to make payments. If the court agrees, the
plaintiff or defendant who is owed money (the judgment
creditor) cannot take any other steps to collect the money
as long as the payments are made on time. If payments
are not made on time, the judgment creditor can ask the
court to order that the remaining balance of the judgment
is due and collectible.

Is interest added after the judgment?
Interest (10 percent per year) is usually added to the
unpaid amount of the judgment from the date the judgment
is entered until it is paid in full. Interest can only be
charged on the unpaid amount of the judgment (the

For free help, contact your county’s small claims advisor:
[local info here]

Need help?

Or go to www.courts.ca.gov/smallclaims/advisor

To file your Response:
� Fill out Form SC-224, Response to Declaration of

Default in Payment of Judgment.
� Have your Response served on the judgment creditor

and all other plaintiffs and defendants in your case.
(See Form SC-112A, Proof of Service by Mail.)

� File your Response and Proof of Service with the small
claims court clerk.

principal); interest cannot be charged on any unpaid
interest. If a partial payment is received, the money is
applied first to unpaid interest and then to unpaid principal.

When the court allows payments, the court often does not
order any interest, as long as all payments are made in full
and on time. Unless the judgment creditor asks for interest
to be included in the order allowing payments, the
judgment creditor may lose any claims for interest. But if
the judgment debtor does not make full payments on time,
interest on the missed payment or the entire unpaid
balance might become due and collectible.

How do I calculate interest?
If you are asking for interest or disagreeing with a request
for interest, you need to explain your interest calculation.
Interest, at the rate of 10 percent per year (.0274 percent
per day), may be added to the full unpaid balance of the
judgment or only to payments that were not made on time.
To calculate interest, show the unpaid principal balance,
the dates and number of days you want the court to allow
interest on that amount, and the total interest for that
period. If payments were made, you will need to make
separate calculations for the reduced principal balance
after each payment.

?

Small Claims



Response to Declaration of Default
in Payment of Judgment

1

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov SC-224,Response to Declaration of Default
in Payment of Judgment �

New July 1, 2013, Optional Form
Code of Civil Procedure, § 116.620;

SC-224

I am responding to a Declaration of Default in Payment of Judgment
(Form SC-223).

My name is:

Mailing address:

Phone: E-mail (optional):

The plaintiff or defendant (judgment creditor) who filed the Declaration
of Default is:

2

Fill in the court name and street address:

Clerk stamps here when form is filed.

Fill in your case number and case name:

Superior Court of California, County of

Case Number:

(Small Claims)

Page 1 of 2

Important: If you disagree with a judgment creditor’s Declaration of Default in
Payment of Judgment (Form SC-223), you may file a Response to Declaration
of Default in Payment of Judgment (Form SC-224) within 10 days after Form
SC-223 was mailed to you. Read the other side before you fill out this form.

Name:

Mailing address:

Phone: E-mail (optional):

Case Name:

3

4

I agree with the information in the Declaration of Default.

I do not agree that the court ordered the payment schedule stated in
item

I do not agree with the dates or amounts of the payments listed in item
payments listed below have been made on the judgment.

5

Check here if there is not enough space below. List the date and amount of each payment on a separate page
and write “SC-224, Item 5” at the top.

Date Amount Date Amount Date Amount Date Amount

The total amount of the payments that have been made on the judgment is $ , and the balance due,6
without adding any interest after the judgment, is $ .

may be added to the balance of the judgment. ThisI agree that interest in the amount of $7

Check here if there is not enough space below. Explain how you calculated interest on a separate page and write
“SC-224, Item 7” at the top.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is true and correct.

Date:

Type or print your name Sign here

Cal. Rules of Court, rule 3.2107

4 of the Declaration of Default. (Describe your disagreement.)

of the Declaration of Default. The5

interest is calculated as follows:

�

�

�

�

�

�

Stanislaus
300 Starr Avenue
300 Starr Avenue
Turlock, CA 95380

Small Claims



New July 1, 2013 Response to Declaration of Default in Payment of Judgment SC-224,

(Small Claims)
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Default in Payments on Small Claims Judgment
General Information

If the court ordered that you may make payments on a
judgment, and another plaintiff, defendant, or person
to whom the judgment was assigned (judgment
creditor) has filed Form SC-223, Declaration of Default
in Payment of Judgment, asking the court to order
that the full balance is now due and collectible
because you did not make the payments:

Read this form and the Declaration.�

� If you agree with the court ordering that the amounts
claimed in the Declaration are now due in full, you do
not need to do anything.

� If you do not agree with the Declaration or with the
court ordering that the amounts it claims are now
due in full, file a Response within 10 calendar days
after the court clerk mailed the Declaration to you.
(This date is on the Clerk’s Certificate of Mailing.) If you
do not do so, the court may order that the balance of
the judgment is now due and collectible in full and may
also order interest on the unpaid amount of the
judgment.

To file your Response:

� Fill out Form SC-224, Response to Declaration of
Default in Payment of Judgment.

� Have your Response served on all other plaintiffs and
defendants in your case. (See Form SC-112A, Proof
of Service by Mail.)

� File your Response and Proof of Service with the
small claims court clerk.

Answers to Common Questions

When is the judgment due?
Unless the court orders otherwise, small claims judgments
are due immediately. If the judgment is not paid in full
within 30 days, the judgment creditor (person to whom the
money is owed) can take legal steps to collect any unpaid
amount. (Collection may be postponed if an appeal or a
request to vacate (cancel) or correct the judgment is filed.)

When can the judgment debtor make payments?
A plaintiff or defendant who was ordered to pay a small
claims judgment (the judgment debtor) can ask the court
for permission to make payments. If the court agrees, the
party who is owed money (the judgment creditor) cannot
take any other steps to collect the money as long as the
payments are made on time. If payments are not made on
time, the judgment creditor can ask the court to order that
the remaining balance of the judgment is due and
collectible.

Is interest added after the judgment?
Interest (10 percent per year) is usually added to the
unpaid amount of the judgment from the date the judgment
is entered until it is paid in full. Interest can only be
charged on the unpaid amount of the judgment (the

For free help, contact your county’s small claims advisor:
[local info here]

Need help?

Or go to www.courts.ca.gov/smallclaims/advisor.

The court will mail all plaintiffs and defendants in
the case

� A decision, or
� A notice to go to a hearing.

principal); interest cannot be charged on any unpaid
interest. If a partial payment is received, the money is
applied first to unpaid interest and then to unpaid principal.

When the court allows payments, the court often does not
order any interest, as long as all payments are made in full
and on time. Unless the judgment creditor asks for interest
to be included in the order allowing payments, the
judgment creditor may lose any claims for interest. But if
the judgment debtor does not make full payments on time,
interest on the missed payment or the entire unpaid
balance might become due and collectible.

How do I calculate interest?
If you are asking for interest or disagreeing with a request
for interest, you need to explain your interest calculation.
Interest, at the rate of 10 percent per year (.0274 percent
per day), may be added to the full unpaid balance of the
judgment or only to payments that were not made on time.
To calculate interest, show the unpaid principal balance,
the dates and number of days you want the court to allow
interest on that amount, and the total interest for that
period. If payments were made, you will need to make
separate calculations for the reduced principal balance
after each payment.

?

Small Claims



Order on Declaration of Default in
Payments

1

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov SC-225Order on Declaration of Default in PaymentsNew July 1, 2013, Optional Form
Code of Civil Procedure, § 116.620

SC-225

A judgment was entered in this case on (date):

Fill in the court name and street address:

Clerk stamps here when form is filed.

Fill in your case number and case name:

Superior Court of California, County of

Case Number:

(Small Claims)

Case Name:

against (name of judgment debtor):

2 On (date): , the court ordered that the judgment
debtor named in 1 may pay the judgment as follows:
a. Payments of $ , on the day

of each (month, week, other):
starting (date):

,
amount of final payment: $
until (date of final payment):

b. The payment schedule is stated on Form SC-225A, item 1 .

On (date): the judgment creditor (name):3

informed the court that the judgment debtor had not made one or more
payments as provided in
remaining balance of the judgment is due and collectible.

2 and asked the court to order that the

the judgment debtor filed aOn (date):4
response to the judgment creditor’s request.

The court orders:

5 The payment order referred to in
a.

2 (check one):
is terminated and the balance of the judgment is collectible.

b. remains in effect, without modification.
c. is modified as stated on Form SC-225A, item 2 .

The following amounts are owing on the judgment as of

3

6
a.
b. Interest (amount): $

Principal balance of judgment and costs included in judgment (amount): $

Other orders are stated on Form SC-225A, item7 .

8 The court will make orders on the matter after a hearing, which will take place on:

Time: Dept.
Name and address of court if different than address above:

Request for Accommodations Assistive listening systems, computer-assisted real-time
captioning, or sign language interpreter services are available if you ask at least five days before
the hearing. Contact the clerk’s office or go to www.courts.ca.gov/forms for Request for
Accommodations by Persons With Disabilities and Response (Form MC-410). (Civil Code, § 54.8)

Date:
Judicial officerNeed help?

For free help, contact your county’s small claims advisor:
[local info here]

Or go to www.courts.ca.gov/smallclaims/advisor

Hearing
Date

�

(date):

?

�

�

�

�
�
�
�

�
�
�

�

�

Stanislaus
300 Starr Avenue
300 Starr Avenue
Turlock, CA 95380

Small Claims



Attachment to Order on Declaration of
Default in Payments

1

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov SC-225AAttachment to Order on Declaration
of Default in Payments

New July 1, 2013, Optional Form
Code of Civil Procedure, § 116.620

SC-225A

Attachment 2b. The payment schedule referred to in item

Case Number:

(Small Claims)

This form is attached to Form SC-225, Order on Declaration of Default in Payments

2

�

of Form SC-225 was (describe):

2 Attachment 5c. The payment order referred to in item 2 of Form SC-225 is modified and payments are now
allowed as follows:
a. Payments of $ on the day of each (month, week, other)

starting (date): and a final payment of: $ on (date):
b. Other payment schedule (specify):

c. The total amount of payments is $ , which includes interest on the unpaid balance of the
judgment. The actual amount of that interest may be different if payments are made late or early.

d. The total amount of the payments is the same as the judgment. If all payments are made in full and on
time, no interest will be owed on the judgment and the judgment will have been paid in full.

e. If any payment is not made in full and on time, the judgment creditor may notify the court to cancel the
payment plan, and the entire unpaid balance will become due and collectible.

3 Attachment 8. The court also orders:

,

�

�

�

�

�

�

�

Small Claims


