

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

2025- 2026 Stanislaus County Civil Grand Jury Selected

Modesto, California - On June 30, 2025, in Department 24 of the Superior Court, Judge Sonny S. Sandhu presided over the selection of the 2025-2026 Civil Grand Jury. The jury's term is for one fiscal year beginning July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026.

The grand jury's purpose is to investigate and report on the operations of local government. The grand jury's fact-finding efforts result in a written report which contains specific recommendations aimed at identifying problems and offering recommendations for improving government operations and enhancing responsiveness. In this way, the grand jury acts as a representative of county residents in promoting government accountability.

Presiding Judge Sonny S. Sandhu appointed Cynthia Young, Foreperson of the 2025-2026 Civil Grand Jury. She also appointed four members from the previous year as holdovers. Fourteen names were then selected randomly to complete the 19-member grand jury panel. Four additional names were selected as alternates. The alternates would be asked to serve in the event that a regular grand juror resigns or is removed. Attached is the list of the new Civil Grand Jury and the alternates.

Immediately after the selection process and swearing-in ceremony, the new panel attended an orientation session. They will also attend a required training session presented by the California Grand Jurors' Association, a not-for-profit educational organization, on July 10th and 11th, 2025.

###

		Resident of:
1	Cynthia Young	Ceres
2	Wende Feller *	Modesto
3	Daniel Freeman*	Modesto
4	Janet Kenworthy*	Modesto
5	Ernie Garcia*	Modesto
6	James Sterling	Modesto
7	Christian Lehikainen	Modesto
8	Charles Castro	Modesto
9	Melissa Doerga	Turlock
10	Eric Butnick	Modesto
11	Michele Gordon	Turlock
12	Kristen Hoagland	Modesto
13	Andrew Ogilvie	Modesto
14	John Herlihy	Modesto
15	Jennifer Difuntorum	Riverbank
16	Dorothy Martin	Modesto
17	Thomas Anderson	Modesto
18	Alice Gonzalez	Patterson
19	Michael Eggener	Oakdale
A1	Nancy Berrens	Modesto
A2	Richard Baum	Modesto
A3	Timothy Buchanan	Modesto
A4	William Chase	Modesto

2025-2026 STANISLAUS COUNTY CIVIL GRAND JURY

*denotes hold over jurors